Pecan Valley AHEC changes name; services, personnel remain the same

Director of Texas AHEC East - Victoria Region, Robbyn Michalka

As of September 1, the Pecan Valley Area Health Education Center (AHEC), located on campus at Victoria College and sponsored by the University of Texas-Medical Branch at Galveston will now be known as Texas AHEC East – Victoria Region. AHEC is a grant program funded by private, state and federal sources.

The name change is meant to clarify service areas for each of the nine regional centers classified in the East division.

“Leadership’s interest to merge identity is a means to simplify our language and representation, and to eliminate ongoing confusion about our territory and organizational linkage,” said Steve Shelton, director of Texas AHEC East.

The name of the organization is changing, but AHEC’s mission to improve the health of its residents through education and support remains the same. AHEC organizations help communities address any unmet health needs and seek to develop a quality health workforce in medically underserved areas.

On campus at VC, the Texas AHEC East - Victoria Region will still offer the same great programs some of which will also have new names. Additionally, personnel remain the same including Director Robbyn Michalka, Program Manager Deanna Alvarez, Senior Program Coordinator Terry Willemin, Senior Program Coordinator Jody Sanders and Program Coordinator Paula Crawford.

Texas AHEC East – Victoria Region serves the following counties:

  • Aransas
  • Austin
  • Calhoun
  • Colorado
  • De Witt
  • Fayette
  • Goliad
  • Gonzales
  • Jackson
  • Lavaca
  • Refugio
  • Victoria
  • Washington
  • Wharton
Published: Thursday, 15 September 2011

Pirate Portal


© 2016 Victoria College | 2200 E. Red River | Victoria, TX 77901 | (361) 573-3291 | (877) 843-4369