League of Women Voters, Victoria College SGA to host candidate’s forum

The League of Women Voters-Victoria and the Victoria College Student Government Association and will host a candidate’s forum at 6 p.m. April 30 in the Leo J. Welder Center for the Performing Arts. The event, featuring candidates for mayor and city council, is free and open to the public.

The forum will allow each candidate an opportunity to answer questions from the audience.

Candidates running for seats in the May 11 election are:
•    Victoria mayor: Incumbent Will Armstrong, Paul Polasek, Richard Andrew Deases, Omar Rachid and Henry Perez.
•    Victoria City Council District 3: Vic Caldwell, John Hyak, and Jeff Bauknight.
•    Victoria City Council Super District 5: Incumbent Joe Truman, former councilman Gabriel Soliz and Andrew Young.
•    Victoria City Council District 6: Incumbent Tom Halepaska and Russell Pruitt.

This is the second time the student group has partnered with the League of Women Voters-Victoria.

"We partner with them because it is important to encourage our fellow constituents to go out and vote and to be well-informed about who we vote for," said Elaine Everett-Hensley, director of Student Activities at VC. "One vote can truly make a difference."


Published: Thursday, 25 April 2013

Pirate Portal


© 2015 Victoria College | 2200 E. Red River | Victoria, TX 77901 | (361) 573-3291 | (877) 843-4369