VC Foundation honors supporters, scholarship recipients
What's Your Story?

Four Victoria College students were each awarded a $1,000 scholarship by the Victoria College Foundation for their winning entries in the “What’s Your Story?” essay and video contest.

Jordan Brown, Katie Molina and Sharryn Evans-Kwiatt were each awarded a scholarship for their winning essays. The winning video was produced by Darcie Dierlam. The recipients were featured in a VC Foundation video and recognized at a Donor Appreciation Breakfast.

During the annual event, the VC Foundation recognized supporters who’ve enabled the foundation to provide scholarships to VC students. Guests also learned about the foundation’s growth over the last five years from Executive Director Amy Mundy.

“The VC Foundation is able to impact lives of so many because of the tremendous support of our donors,” said Mundy. “In 2010, the VC Foundation awarded 357 scholarships totaling $331,000. This year, we were able to help over 800 students with scholarships totaling more than $650,000.”

Mundy also reported that the type of students receiving scholarships has expanded. In addition to awarding students enrolled in traditional credit courses, scholarships were awarded this year to high school students taking dual credit classes as well as to workforce students seeking a faster track to their careers in areas such as welding, nurse aide, and truck driving.

“The VC Foundation is a leader among community colleges in providing workforce scholarships,” said Mundy. “These scholarships empower students to secure professions that provide wages to support them and their families, while also helping provide a trained workforce for the employers in our communities.”

Other scholarship recipients featured at the event were:

Clint Brewer, awarded the Distinguished Scholar Scholarship. Brewer is a recent graduate of Sacred Heart High School and plans to earn an Associate of Applied Science degree in instrumentation and electronics technology.

Hanna Diefenbach, awarded the VC Transfer Student Endowed Scholarship. Diefenbach is a 2015 graduate of St. Joseph High School and will transfer to Texas A&M University this fall.

Desmond Johnson, awarded a KEY Center Scholarship. Johnson recently earned his Associate of Science degree and was the student speaker at VC’s spring commencement ceremony. In addition to being a member of the KEY Center, Johnson was inducted into Phi Theta Kappa and is now a tutor at the KEY Center.

Kyle Schoenemann, also awarded the VC Transfer Student Endowed Scholarship. Schoenemann is the 2015 valedictorian of Yoakum High School and will transfer to Texas A&M University this fall.

Published: Friday, 14 August 2015

Pirate Portal


© 2017 Victoria College | 2200 E. Red River | Victoria, TX 77901 | (361) 573-3291 | (877) 843-4369