Museum to offer summer archaeological activities for Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts
MCB
Amanda Lanum

Registration is underway for the Museum of the Coastal Bend’s Boy Scout Archaeology Workshops, Archaeology Explorers Summer Camp and Junior Archaeologist Summer Camp.

Participants will learn about archaeology lab procedures and exhibit design while also participating in multiple hands-on activities.

“This is a great opportunity for youngsters to discover what archaeology is all about and learn about career opportunities and how they can help preserve the past,” said Amanda Lanum, Museum of the Coastal Bend education coordinator. “These activities also meet Scout badge and patch requirements.”

Boy Scouts ages 9 and older can participate in two series of Boy Scout Archaeology Workshops, which will begin on Wednesday, June 7 with “What Is Archaeology?” There will be field days on Friday, June 9 and Friday, June 23. Lab days are scheduled for Tuesday, June 20 and Tuesday, June 27.

The second round of Boy Scout Archaeology Workshops will begin with “What Is Archaeology?” on Friday, June 30. A lab day is scheduled for Thursday, July 6, and a field day will be held on Friday, July 7.

The cost for each “What Is Archaeology?” workshop is $10 ($9 for museum members). The cost for each field day and lab day is $5 ($4 for museum members).

A two-day workshop on exhibit design is scheduled for Wednesday, July 26 and Thursday, July 27. The cost for the exhibit design workshop is $10 ($9 for museum members).

All workshops will be from 9 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Pre-registration is required.

The Archaeology Explorers Summer Camp for Girl Scout Daisies and Brownies will be held Tuesday, June 13 through Thursday, June 15 from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. each day. The cost for the camp is $15 ($13 for museum members). The registration deadline is Tuesday, May 30.

The Junior Archaeologist Summer Camp for Girls Scout Juniors and Cadets is scheduled for Tuesday, July 18 through Friday, July 21 from 9 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. each day. The cost for the camp is $25 ($22 for museum members). The registration deadline is Wednesday, July 5.

For more information, contact Lanum at (361) 582-2559 or Amanda.Lanum@VictoriaCollege.edu or go by the Museum of the Coastal Bend at 2200 E. Red River Street in Victoria. The museum is open Tuesday through Saturday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Published: Wednesday, 22 March 2017
 

Pirate Portal

 


© 2017 Victoria College | 2200 E. Red River | Victoria, TX 77901 | (361) 573-3291 | (877) 843-4369