Loans

William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan Program (DL)

Victoria College participates in the William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan Program (DL). The program provides low-interest loans to eligible students enrolled at least half-time in an institution of higher education. Repayment may be deferred until a student ceases to be enrolled at least halftime in an institution of higher education.

All students who wish to apply for DL must meet the following requirements:

  1. Be currently enrolled for at least 6 credit hours.
  2. Declare a major with the Registrar's office.
  3. Be enrolled in courses that count toward their degree plan or certificate program.
  4. Courses that do not count toward the degree plan or certificate program cannot be included in the enrollment status of students for the purpose of determining whether students are full-time or part-time.
  5. Students must meet the Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) requirements to be eligible to receive any type of financial aid (loans, grants, work-study, etc.)


A student's loan eligibility amount will be calculated based on financial need, the number of semester credit hours they are enrolled in each semester (as of the 12th class day during the fall and spring semesters and the 4th class day during summer semesters), the amount of other financial aid (grants, scholarships, work-study, WIA benefits, tuition waivers, etc.) they may receive, and grade level.

Loans funds are available to cover initial payment of tuition/fees and purchase of books. The first disbursement of loan checks are mailed approximately 30-35 days after the first day of class during the fall and spring semesters and approximately 17-20 days after the first class day during the summer semesters (First-time borrowers must wait 30 days before loans can be disbursed, due to federal regulations.) Your correct mailing address must be on file in the Admissions Office. Loans are disbursed in two equal payments in accordance with federal regulations.  For loans covering one semester, the second disbursement cannot be made until at least fifty-percent of the student's enrollment has elapsed.

Obtaining a Direct Loan 

Students must complete a financial aid file and complete a loan request form to apply for loan funds. In addition, students who received an award letter with Direct Stafford Subsidized/Unsubsidized Loans are required to complete Entrance Counseling and sign a Master Promissory Note at Studentloans.gov before loan funds can be available.  Entrance Counseling must be completed through a face-to-face session. Victoria College requires all new student borrowers to complete Entrance Counseling even if he or she is a previous borrower. 

 
Available Sessions:

 

VC Main Campus

Tuesday August 5, 2014 HSC Rm 130
5pm-6pm
Tuesday August 12, 2014 HSC Rm 130 5pm-6pm
Tuesday September 2, 2014
HSC Rm 130 5pm-6pm
Tuesday October 7, 2014
HSC Rm 130 5pm-6pm
Tuesday November 4, 2014
HSC Rm 130 5pm-6pm
Tuesday December 2, 2014
HSC Rm 130 5pm-6pm
Tuesday January 13, 2015 HSC Rm 131 5pm-6pm
Tuesday February 3, 2015 HSC Rm 130 5pm-6pm
Tuesday March 3, 2015 HSC Rm 131 5pm-6pm
Tuesday April 7, 2015 HSC Rm 130 5pm-6pm
Tuesday May 5, 2015 HSC Rm 130 5pm-6pm

Tuesday June 2, 2015

HSC Rm 130 5pm-6pm
Tuesday June 16, 2015
HSC Rm 130

5pm-6pm

Tuesday July 7, 2015
HSC Rm 130
5pm-6pm
Tuesday July 21, 2015
HSC Rm 130
5pm-6pm
Tuesday August 4, 2015
HSC Rm 130
5pm-6pm

 

Gonzales Center

Wednesday August 6, 2014  GCVC Rm 120 5pm-6pm
Wednesday August 13, 2014
GCVC Rm 120
5pm-6pm
Wednesday September 3, 2014
GCVC Rm 120
5pm-6pm
Wednesday October 8, 2014
GCVC Rm 120
5pm-6pm
Wednesday November 5, 2014
GCVC Rm 120
5pm-6pm
Wednesday December 3, 2014
GCVC Rm 120
5pm-6pm
Wednesday January 14, 2015 GCVC Rm 120
5pm-6pm
Wednesday February 3, 2015 GCVC Rm 120
5pm-6pm
Wednesday March 4, 2015 GCVC Rm 120
5pm-6pm
Wednesday April 8, 2015 GCVC Rm 120
5pm-6pm
Wednesday May 6, 2015
GCVC Rm 120
5pm-6pm
Wednesday June 3, 2015
GCVC Rm 120
5pm-6pm
Wednesday July 8, 2015 GCVC Rm 120

5pm-6pm

Wednesday August 5, 2015
GCVC Rm 120
5pm-6pm

 

Calhoun Center

Thursday August 7, 2014
CCVC Rm 8
4pm-5pm
Thursday September 5, 2014
CCVC Rm 8 4pm-5pm
Thursday October 9, 2014
CCVC Rm 8
4pm-5pm
Thursday November 6, 2014
CCVC Rm 8
4pm-5pm
Thursday December 4, 2014
CCVC Rm 8
4pm-5pm Cancelled
Thursday January 15, 2015 CCVC Rm 8
4pm-5pm Cancelled
Thursday February 4, 2015 CCVC Rm 8
4pm-5pm
Thursday March 5, 2015 CCVC Rm 8 4pm-5pm
Thursday April 9, 2015 CCVC Rm 8
4pm-5pm
Thursday May 7, 2015 CCVC Rm 8
4pm-5pm
Thursday June 4, 2015
CCVC Rm 8
4pm-5pm
Thursday July 9, 2015
CCVC Rm 8
4pm-5pm
Thursday August, 6, 2015 CCVC Rm 8 4pm-5pm

                                                        

Loan recipients must complete Loan Exit Counseling before transferring to another college or university or graduating from Victoria College, dropping below half-time status, or withdrawing. Loan Exit Counseling is available at Studentloans.gov. Under Tools and Resources, click Exit Counseling link to complete the counseling session. Students not completing Loan Exit Counseling may have a hold placed on their records.
 

 

Pirate Portal

 



Want More Info?
© 2014 Victoria College | 2200 E. Red River | Victoria, TX 77901 | (361) 573-3291 | (877) 843-4369