News

Academy of Lifelong Learning Open House scheduled for Jan. 15

OXl7XiLw The Texas Master Naturalist Series will be among the variety of activities and classes offered by Victoria College’s Academy of Lifelong Learning this spring.

Victoria College’s Academy of Lifelong Learning will hold its Spring 2020 Open House on Thursday, Jan. 15 from 1:30 to 4 p.m. in the Conference & Education Center at VC’s Emerging Technology Complex, located at 7403 Lone Tree Road in Victoria.

The Academy of Lifelong Learning provides members with common interests the opportunity to participate in study, discussions and social interaction. The academy recently released its Spring 2020 schedule that includes an overnight trip to Corpus Christi among other social events and instruction on gardening, yoga, history and other activities. 

The Spring 2020 membership fee for VC’s Academy of Lifelong Learning is $40.

“We are very excited about the events, activities and classes we have scheduled for the spring,” said VC Lifelong Learning Program Specialist Jennifer Mann. “We have continued some of our favorite events and classes while adding some new ones.” 

Here’s a list of the scheduled events and activities for Spring 2020:

  • Mah Jongg – Mondays, Jan. 27-Aug. 3, noon-4 p.m.
  • Advanced Pickle Ball – Mondays, Jan. 27-May 4, 8:45-10:45 a.m.
  • Duplicate Bridge – Tuesdays, Jan. 21-Aug. 4, noon-4 p.m.
  • Contract Bridge – Wednesdays, Jan. 22-Aug. 5, noon-4 p.m.
  • Bunco – Thursdays, Jan. 30, Feb. 27, March 26, April 23, May 28, noon-4 p.m.
  • Pickle Ball for Beginners – Fridays, Jan. 24-May 1, 8:45-10:45 a.m.
  • Self-Care with Massage – Monday, Jan. 27, 10 a.m.
  • Bone Health – Tuesday, Jan. 28, 1 p.m.
  • Victoria Regional History Center Tour – Thursday, Jan. 30, 10 a.m. or 1 p.m.
  • Active Shooter Training – Monday, Feb. 3, 10-11:30 a.m.
  • Mac & Cheese Mania – Wednesday, Feb. 5 or Thursday, Feb. 6, 3-5 p.m.
  • John W. Stormont Lecture Series: The Texas Freedom Colonies Project – Thursday, Feb. 6, 5:30 p.m.
  • Victoria Empty Bowls – Sunday, Feb. 9, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
  • Meet You There: Huvar’s Artisan Market – Monday, Feb. 10, 11 a.m.
  • Orphan Train Movement – Tuesday, Feb. 11, 2:30 p.m.
  • Spoetzl Brewery Tour – Wednesday, Feb. 12, 9:30 a.m.
  • A Night at the Theatre: Sister Act – Thursday, Feb. 13, 5:30 p.m.
  • John W. Stormont Lecture Series: Burnt Clay: Insights Into Texas’ Prehistoric People – Friday, Feb. 14, 5:30 p.m.
  • Texas Archaeological Society Geoarchaeology Academy – Saturday, Feb. 15-Sunday, Feb. 16, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
  • Oils of Ancient Scripture – Tuesday, Feb. 18, 10 a.m.
  • Sew Your Own: Make-Up Bag – Thursday, Feb. 20 or Friday, Feb. 21, 1-4 p.m.
  • Mayor Rawley McCoy – Monday, Feb. 24, 10 a.m.
  • Texas Master Naturalist Series: Intro to Geology of Texas and the Coastal Bend – Tuesday, Feb. 25, 5:30-7:30 p.m.
  • Paper Crafting: Home Decor Frame – Wednesday, Feb. 26 or Thursday, Feb. 27, 1-3 p.m.
  • Lifestory – Mondays, March 2 & 30, April 6 & 20, May 4 & 18, noon-1:30 p.m.
  • Lyceum Lecture Series: Susan Polgar – Monday, March 2, 12:30 p.m.
  • Texas Master Naturalist Series: One Plastic Bag at a Time – Tuesday, March 3, 5:30-7:30 p.m.
  • Prisoner-of-War Camps in Texas – Wednesday, March 4, 10 a.m.
  • Book Review: Don Quixote” – Thursday, March 5, 10 a.m.
  • Painted Churches Tour – Friday, March 6, 8:30 a.m.
  • Victoria TX Book Festival – Saturday, March 7, 5:30 p.m.
  • John W. Stormont Lecture Series: La Belle Project – Saturday, March 7, 2:30 p.m.
  • Chair Yoga – Monday, March 9, 10 a.m.
  • West Farms Tour – Monday, March 9, 1 p.m.
  • Gulf Breeze Winery Tour and Tasting – Tuesday, March 10, 1 p.m.
  • Line Dancing – Wednesday, March 11, 3 p.m.
  • What Happens After the Paychecks Stop?: A Retirement Seminar – Thursday, March 12, 10 a.m.
  • Cooking with Texana Brand Olive Oil – Friday, March 13, noon
  • Meet You There: Movies – Monday, March 23, TBD
  • Scarf Tying – Tuesday, March 24, 10 a.m.
  • Stained Glass – Wednesday, March 25, April 1 & 8, 9:30-11:30 a.m.
  • Simplified Soap Tour and Demonstration – Thursday, March 26, 2 p.m.
  • Aging Gracefully – Monday, March 30, 10 a.m.
  • Texas Master Naturalist Series: Powderhorn Wildlife Management Tour – Tuesday, March 31, 9-11 a.m.
  • How to Arrange a Charcuterie Board – Thursday, April 2, 3 p.m.
  • VISD Superintendent Dr. Quintin Shepherd – Friday, April 3, 10 a.m.
  • Lyceum Lecture Series: Natasha Verma – Tuesday, April 7, 5:30 p.m.
  • Spring Floral Arranging – Thursday, April 9, 6 p.m.
  • Conversational Sign Language – Mondays, April 13-27, 1-2:30 p.m.
  • Texas Master Naturalist Series: Shell Maidens: Lives of Archaic Native Americans Along the Coastal Bend – Tuesday, April 14, 5:30-7:30 p.m.
  • Raised Bed Gardening – Thursday, April 16, 10 a.m.
  • Dinner Tonight: Healthy Cooking Habits – Tuesday, April 21, 10 a.m.
  • 1840 Comanche Raid on Victoria – Wednesday, April 22, 10 a.m.
  • Acrylic String Painting – Thursday, April 23, 1-3 p.m.
  • Texas Master Naturalist Series: The Mysterious Life of Bats – Tuesday, April 28, 5:30-7:30 p.m.
  • Corpus Christi Overnight Trip – Thursday, April 30-Friday, May 1
  • Geography for Beginners, Tuesday, May 5, 5:30-7 p.m.
  • Paint the Town, Wednesday, May 6, 1-4 p.m.
  • Cooking Depot: Chinese Cooking – Thursday, May 7 or Thursday, May 21, 5-7 p.m.
  • Museum of the Coastal Bend Spring Market – Thursday, May 7, 11 a.m.-6 p.m.
  • Meet You There: 5D Steakhouse – Monday, May 11, 11 a.m.
  • South Texas Milling Tour – Tuesday, May 12, 10 a.m.
  • Beneficial Critters in the Garden – Wednesday, May 13, 10 a.m.
  • Achieving a Healthier Lifestyle without Pain Medications – Thursday, May 14, 1 p.m.
  • Adventures in Glass – Wednesday, May 20
  • Book Review: As I Recall – Tuesday, May 26, 10 a.m.
  • Academy of Lifelong Learning End-of-Year Celebration: Wednesday, May 27, 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

For more information, email Jennifer.Mann@VictoriaCollege.edu or call (361) 582-2426.