MINUTES of the SPECIAL MEETING of the BOARD OF TRUSTEES of VICTORIA COLLEGE August 22, 2016

 $\sqrt{\text{Ronald B. Walker}}$ x V. Bland Proctor

 $\sqrt{\text{Luis A. Guerra}}$ $\sqrt{\text{Michelle Yates}}$

√ Catherine McHaney √ John Zacek

STAFF

 $\sqrt{}$ Dr. David Hinds $\sqrt{}$ Jennifer Yancey

√ Mary Ann Rodriguez

MEDIA

√ Victoria Advocate – Gabby Canales

Guests: Dr. Florinda Correa, Keith Blundell, Babette Lowe, Lydia Huber, Darin Kazmir, Matt Wiley, Betsy Crane, Jerry Hamilton, Cindy Buchholz, Dr. Ed Byerly, Coy Slavik, Tracey Bergstrom, and Lydia Huber.

The Victoria College Board of Trustees met Thursday, August 22, 2016 at 4:00 p.m. in the Corporate Training Room, Academic Building, Room 101. Mr. Ron Walker, Chair, presided over the meeting.

A. Call to Order:

- 1. Mr. Ron Walker called the meeting to order at 4:01 p.m. and announced that a quorum of board members was present
- 2. Dr. David Hinds certified that the agenda had been properly posted per Texas statute.

B. Citizen Communication:

- 1. The Public was invited to address the board. No public comments were heard during this time.
- 2. The first public hearing on the 2016 tax rate was opened for public comment. No public comments were heard.

C. Consider Board of Trustees Committee Reports:

1. Finance & Resources – 8.22.16

Mr. John Zacek briefly discussed the reports and noted that a committee recommendation would be discussed in a later agenda item.

D. Items for Consideration:

1. Administer Oath of Office to District 5, VC Board of Trustee appointment

Ms. Jennifer Yancey administered the Oath of Office to District 5 to Dr. Daniel A. Cano. Afterwards, Dr. Cano thanked the board and expressed how very honored he was for this opportunity and was very eager to serve.

2. CONSIDER Minutes of the Board Workshop held on August 8, 2016.

Mrs. Catherine McHaney moved to accept the minutes as presented. Mrs. Michelle Yates seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

CONSIDER Minutes of Special Board Meeting held on August 11, 2016.
 Mr. Luis Guerra moved to accept the minutes as presented. Mr. John Zacek seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

4. CONSIDER Independent Auditor Proposals for FY 2015-2016.

Mr. Keith Blundell presented. The College has completed a ten year audit cycle with PBH and sent out requests for proposal to all local audit firms and many regional audit firms. Four firms submitted complete proposals. All three of the firms, except PBH submitted proposals with fees higher than our current fee of \$25,600. All of the firms had experience auditing community colleges and had clean peer review reports. PBH has audited the South Texas Junior College, Coastal Bend Community College and Victoria College. Therefore, Mr. Blundell recommended the board accept Pattillo, Brown & Hill as its independent auditor for the fiscal year 2015-2016. The proposed fee will remain at \$25,600. Mrs. Catherine McHaney moved to accept his recommendation. Mr. John Zacek seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

5. CONSIDER Personnel Items: Faculty Retirement/New Hires

Dr. Hinds presented. He informed the board that Elaine Savoie, VN Instructor, would be retiring effective December 31, 2016. Dr. Hinds also presented the board with three new faculty hires: Sharon Carmona, AHCE Assistant Coordinator/Instructor; Jennifer Halepaska, ADN Instructor and Sharon Stevens, also ADN Instructor. Mr. Luis Guerra moved to accept the retirement and new hires as presented. Mrs. Catherine McHaney seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

6. EXECUTIVE SESSION: Executive Session is called under authority of the Texas Open Meetings Act, and in accordance with the Texas Government Code, under Section 551.074, to discuss personnel matters and consider employment and annual evaluation of the College President.

Mr. Walker called the Trustees into Executive Session at 4:08 p.m. The session ended at 6:42 p.m. Mrs. McHaney left the meeting following the executive session due to another commitment.

7. CONSIDER College President Contract

Mr. Luis Guerra moved to extend Dr. Hinds' contract for one year. The contract will now be extended until 2019. There were no other terms amended at this time. Mr. John Zacek seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:45 p.m.		
Ron Walker, Chair	V. Bland Proctor, Secretary	